top of page
Writer's pictureCerestes HQ

I Wrote My First Book (And What I Learned While Doing It)

In true me fashion, once the month of June hit, I was overwhelmed with the urge out of nowhere to prove to myself that I could actually write a book, and so I did the damn thing and sat down and devoted a couple weeks to writing the backstory of my main characters. As the month draws to a close, I now sit here with the first copy in hand and fix my mistakes that slipped past be before printing. Anyways. That leads me to the point of this blog post!


Along the way I have learned of a couple valuable resources for self published authors (or even you personal writers) that I wanted to share and come back to later.





Kindle Direct Publishing - Upload your story here in ebook form as well as print! My copy below was printed through Amazon and I have to say that I am very happy with the quality. It passes my personal quality control and I look forward to publishing more of my works using this!


Draft2Digital - This website allows you to upload your manuscript as well as sell prints. I have NOT quality tested their books yet but I plan on doing so and updating this blog with the results. What I do like is the fact that from this site, you can upload your book to many different stores. NOTE - if you upload your book through KDP above, make sure you do not upload it a second time through Amazon via D2D. They are strict on content control.


Goodreads - I have not done so myself, but I feel it is a good move to submit a book addition request to Goodreads AFTER you assign an ISBN to your book (available for free through the publishers above or you can purchase your own). Be prepared for reviews of all kinds! This probably isn't for the faint of heart lol, but great for feedback and eyes on your work.


Inkarnate - Map making software is excellent for bringing your world to life! I used the free version to create this map, and there is so much more available for a fee.



FantasiaArchive - A free program made for organizing your characters and world. I am old school and do everything via hundreds of scraps of paper, but this is a good option for folks with more technological prowess!


I will add more to this page as I go, and if you have other resources you would like to share, please share them in the comments!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page